RSS

Snow day in a snow-starved coastal town

21 Dec

Squeals of delight at 5:30 am wake me from a warm slumber. The forecast was for overnight snow, and my younger daughter has discovered it and is excitedly waking her sister to tell her. After peering out at the flakes falling through the porch light, they sensibly go back to sleep to wait for daylight, then jump out of bed and wake little brother. Minutes later they discover school has been cancelled, and jabber lightheartedly as they pull on boots and mitts. My oldest daughter keeps saying “I’m so happy! I’m so happy!” It’s the perfect start to winter vacation.

I test the road for slipperiness, then jog off to my exercise class, which is never cancelled for weather. The car noises are muffled and my feet are cushioned as I run.

When I get back home, spent, there are several snow people in the yard, and snowball trails crisscross the lawn. In the kitchen I find the kids have made waffles with berries and cream for breakfast. My legs are ready to collapse and my nerves are buzzing again. Is it a problem with blood sugar? Electrolytes? I shower, have some breakfast and lie down. Time to get back on track with vitamins and royal jelly, I guess, with some glucosamine chondritin for the aging joints. Feeling a bit better after twenty minutes of prone time.

An argument erupts in the yard and my son comes in fuming and wants to play a computer game, since the girls won’t play make a fort with him. The snow still falls, but we know it’s wet and due to melt later in the day. He settles down with a book and the girls come in and cozy up together on the couch with their music devices.

I start gathering supplies for a day of sewing presents, but am reminded I need to drive one daughter to the horse barn and the other to a friend’s house to make gingerbread cookies. Since my husband and oldest son are away at a swim meet, that means my ten-year old has to accompany us, which he will not like. He fusses a good deal at the news, but finally gathers up his books and dons his winter wear.

The driving is safe enough, though I have to shift into low gear in places and slide once. New car handles it okay, and the major roads are mostly clear. But I’m flustered at having to get into the storage unit on the way to get packaging for the new family computer. It stopped working and I’ve been assigned the job of taking it back. I find the packaging, but of course can’t figure out the puzzle of how to get the computer properly packed into it, so I pile it all in the trunk. Also returning speakers that were too big, coffee that the brother-in-law no longer drinks, and Christmas lights with the wrong colored wire. Then there’s the jeans from JC Penny with the ink tag still attached and the title transfer paperwork to take in to the Auditor’s office. After dropping off the girls we have five hours until final pickup, and I hope to get to the ReStore to look for a bench to modify. I didn’t picture my snow day this way.

I take my son to lunch at the new restaurant that replaced the old KFC. Excellent burger and fries followed by a cupcake for him and a latte for me. Some of the fruits of frugality in other things. While waiting for our meal my son gets up, intending to go outside and play in the snow, but I explain that I am his date and he would be walking out on me, and he laughs and sits back down. We discuss Harry Potter and Redwall books and play pun wars, then visit the library and do our final errands.

When I pick up my older daughter, she and her friend show me their perfectly rendered One Direction gingerbread boys. Driving home she tells me how much fun she had, and we try to imagine what the friend’s snow day would have been like if they hadn’t hung out–she’s an only child, and her parents were at work. Wonderful parents–I got to know them from the swim team and carpooling. Now the girls take the city bus and save us both several drives a week, my suggestion as a mother of four wanting to reduce driving. Protective mother was concerned, and in constant contact with her daughter by phone the first trip, but it has turned out well.

My youngest daughter is also happy and tired. She is bonding with her mare, and glad to ride one that knows the paces instead of the one she almost leased, which was beautiful and sensitive, but untrained. She enjoys having her own grooming gear and a blanket so her horse will be sleek instead of furry soon because of the extra protection.

The children go to bed on time for once, and I’m ready to sew. Four polar fleece hats later, I am satisfied with my day’s work. I wish you a wonderful day, and a wonderful winter break.

 
 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Snow day in a snow-starved coastal town

  1. jdawgsrunningblog

    December 21, 2013 at 5:56 am

    Very good—nice tone and pacing–I like the quality of the storytelling—the narrative voice behind the sentences and your no-holds-barred disclosure of detail. Provides a broad picture and insight into our own days.

     
  2. Susan Chase-Foster

    January 11, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    Hi toes. Thanks for liking my posts. I’m happy to have found out about your blog and delighted to read about your snowy day of meandering through the duties and joys of motherhood. Engaging storytelling.

     
    • toesinthedirt

      January 11, 2014 at 5:32 pm

      Thanks for visiting, Susan. Your blog is lovely! I look forward to exploring it more.

       

Leave a Comment

 
