RSS

A warm homecoming after a cold day at the fairgrounds

01 Mar

It took me a half hour of soaking in a tub of hot water to get the chill out of my bones after the horse show today. But only the body heat got stolen, while my heart was warmed. See, I found that by hanging around in my winter gear toting saddles and bridles and baskets of tack back and forth through the icy wind and the cold, high barn, getting snapped at, instructed, ordered around, apologized to, pushed off, then finally thanked again and again, I’ve got the message through to my thirteen year old daughter that I love her a whole bunch and am there for her. I could see it in her lightness of spirit, her playfulness, her sweetness through the drive home and at supper. Yeah, she had to throw a few comments the others’ way for not showing up (my husband was sick with a bad cold; big brother assured her that he wanted to see her ride next time; sister reminded her she came last time), but it was enough that I was there. A relief to know that cup of hers is full again, ’cause we’ve seen a lot of spills.

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Comment

 
