RSS

You know the one about if I had a nickel for every time I got distracted, I wish I had a puppy?

13 Oct

This is about my difficulties today with fifth graders. Gentle difficulties which an experienced fifth grade teacher could avoid or surmount easily, but which tried my patience and reminded me that I have a lot to learn.

In introduction, this group of seventy-five or so kids felt like a different tribe from those a a different school last week, who listened, caught on, and had impulse control. Today at this school across town, many of the fifth graders in my classes couldn’t concentrate on an idea or remember what I had said or shown a few seconds after the fact. I would demonstrate a sample problem on the white board, check for understanding, not see any evidence of confusion, then say go ahead and do the rest of the problems, then find that all over the room were kids that had retained nothing and now wanted me to start at the beginning to explain to them individually. There was also a lack of understanding of when to speak out, and numerous times when I’d call for everyone’s attention and be in the middle of a few minutes of introduction, instruction, or a tale, there would be numerous, spontaneous, unnecessary interruptions. It was as if each of these children believed this was a one on one conversation and they could change the subject, tell a connecting story, or make a request at any time for any reason.

As one class was lining up at the door to move to another room, I asked the student at the front of the line, by way of conversation, “Do you think that when you’re a few years older, you’ll be able to remember what the teacher says a little longer and not forget right away?” He was looking at me, making eye contact. There was a pause while I waited for him to answer. Then he blinked, and said, “What did you say?”

I am not making this up.

In a lull during the next period I told this story to the next class, as written above. When I was done, I looked around, saw a few smiles of understanding, and then, up piped a boy: “What did she say?” And as those few students in the group grinned wider, yet another boy from the other side of the room, realizing something amusing had occurred, asked, “What was that? I didn’t hear.”

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2014 in Education, Places & Experiences

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “You know the one about if I had a nickel for every time I got distracted, I wish I had a puppy?

  1. jdawgsrunningblog

    October 14, 2014 at 5:32 am

    You should send this piece out—the larger world needs to hear about experiences like this.

     
    • toesinthedirt

      October 14, 2014 at 10:41 am

      I’m trying to think of a way to research it, and wondering if the “low income” kids at that other school, same grade, same town, had better attentiveness for a reason I can get at–lack of money to buy devices that negatively affect focus and concentration? Pitching in with household chores (real work with real goals, real problem solving?) while underpaid parents earned the bread? A sense of privilege rather than apathy about school? And to try to articulate, in scientific and rational terms, why the move to “game-ify” education (and the work place) to capture attention, if not engage intellect, is a losing game.

       
  2. jdawgsrunningblog

    October 15, 2014 at 5:14 am

    I admire your reach, your ambition with this–you really are going after ‘something.’ Although…I don’t think all that should get in the way of a more comprehensive personal-style essay on the topic–with your own thinking, as in your above reply–being the hub of it.

     

Leave a Comment

 
