RSS

Sunshinolatry

10 May
Sunshinolatry

I’m tired of the constant and unvaried bias toward sunny weather in the media. It’s become a kind of brainwashing, and I would like to hear something like this, for once, on a weather forecast:

“This weekend, we can look forward to clouds and rain, constant and drenching, enough to fill the aquifers, knock the dust down, water the fields and gardens, and wash the dog pee off all the fire hydrants. Enjoy catching up on your indoor projects, but make sure you spend some time outside getting wet if you’re able, and if not, poke your head out into an alley and hear what singer-songwriter Bruce Cockburn describes as “trashcan bells” ringing.

My father taught me that all weather should be appreciated, and I think we will all be happier if we I take it as it comes.

Dad’s weather book, a good read even if you don’t live there.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Sunshinolatry

  1. photosbyandy

    May 10, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    well said…I’ve always enjoyed running through a good rain storm.

     
    • Gillian

      May 10, 2013 at 10:45 pm

      Thank you! I especially love the start of a windy rain in the fall. I met a new friend that way when we were supposed to be studying.

       

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.